THE NIST 800-171 Services Bethesda MD

NIST stands for National Institute of Standards and Technology. NIST 800-171 was established after FISM (Federal Information Security Management Act) was passed in 2003.It is a unit of US Commerce Department. It promotes and maintains measurements standards. The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) created Special Publication 800-171 to help protect Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).Its goal was to protect the Legal information of Business man, citizens, and government.

What is NIST 800-171 Services Bethesda MD?

NIST itself is a non-regulatory Federal agency responsible for establishing guidelines that apply to Federal agencies on many topics including cybersecurity. NIST 800-171, a companion document to NIST 800-53 dictates how contractors and subcontractors of Federal agencies should manage Controlled information systems and organizations. NIST 800-171 Services Bethesda MD began its life as Executive Order 13556 signed by President Obama in 2010, directing all Federal agencies to safeguard their CUI and establishing a unified policy for all agencies to follow for data sharing and transparency. After a few breaches in Federal agencies, USPS, NOAA, and OPM NIST and the Federal government started to focus more on cybersecurity: in 2014 Congress passed FISMA, NIST followed up with NIST 800-53, and later, NIST 800-171.

What is the purpose of NIST 800-171 Services Bethesda MD?

NIST 800-171 Services Bethesda MD standardizes how Federal agencies define CUI: data that is private and sensitive but not classified per federal law. We aren’t talking about the list of Black Ops operating in enemy territories different laws govern national security stuff but data is covered by SOX or HIPAA for example each agency is responsible for providing the details of what kind of data CUI to the National Archives and Records Administration, the agency charged with enforcement of EO 13556. NIST 800-171 Services Bethesda MD controls apply to federal government contractors and subcontractors. If you are another company you work with has a contract with a federal agency, you must be a complaint with the policy. Federal agencies may include specific requirements in their contract, however if you don’t have those clauses in your contract, that won’t stop NIST 800-171 for applying to your agreement.

Here are few agencies or organizations that need to comply with NIST 800-171 Services Bethesda.

  • Contractors for Department of Defense (DoD)
  • Contractors for General Services Administration (GSA)
  • Contractors for National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)
  • Universities and research institutions supported by federal grants
  • Consulting companies with federal contracts
  • Service providers for federal agencies
  • Manufacturing companies supplying goods to federal agencies

List of requirements for the compliance with NIST 800-171 Services Bethesda.

NIST 800-171 Services Bethesda MD is a risk assessment document and a contractor must have to comply with it. There are some primary requirements for the fulfillment of the NIST assessment. A contractor have to implement and document the list mentioned below:

  1. Access Control
  2. Awareness and Training
  3. Audit and Accountability
  4. Configuration Management
  5. Identification and Authentication
  6. Incident Response
  7. Maintenance
  8. Media Protection
  9. Personnel Security
  10. Physical Protection
  11. Risk Assessment
  12. Security Assessment
  13. System and Communications Protection
  14. System and Information Integrity


NIST Compliance is an important requirement for a contractor. There are some essential requirements and standards in the regulation that are needed to be fulfilled by a contractor. In order to keep the sensitive data safe and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI) you need a experienced service provider otherwise you can lose your data and also you can lose your contract and relationship with agencies